Tourism Ireland

Embassy Details

Embassy of Ireland, Pretoria

2nd Floor
Parkdev Building
Brooklyn Bridge Office Park
570 Fehrsen Street
Brooklyn, 0181
Tel: +27 12 452 1000

British High Commission (Consular section)

256 Glyn Street
Hatfield, 0083
Tel: +27 12 421 780

Embassy of Ireland, Cape Town

LG Building
No 1 Thibault Square
Long Street
Cape Town
Tel: +27 21 419 0636/7

Visa Requirements

There are no visas required for South African Passport holders if they are visiting the Republic of  Ireland.
South African passport holders are required to have a UK Visa if they are visiting Northern Ireland.


The Republic of Ireland uses the Euro as the local currency. Northern Ireland uses Sterling as the local currency as it is part of the UK.


Ireland has a mild temperate climate with summer temperatures generally ranging from 15ºC to 20ºC.
Temperatures in spring & autumn are generally 10ºC & in winter 5ºC-8ºC.
Rain showers can occur at any time of the year. You can check the weather conditions in Ireland anytime by logging on to the Met Eireann website -

Time Zone

Both the Republic of Ireland & Northern Ireland operate on Greenwich Meridian Time (GMT); clocks are put
forward one hour mid-March & back one hour at the end of October.

During summer (from June - early September) it can stay light until as late as 10.30pm, but by mid-December
it can be dark by 4.00pm.

For more information

For more information on Ireland, visit